Musings

It’s Not You, It’s Me

It’s over.

Well, no, but it certainly has been “a while”. “A while”, in this case, directly translating into “months”. Dear me. I think it feels longer though.

Oh, here it comes, you’re thinking. Another excuse, right about now.

And okay, looking back at some of my most recent posts, I’ve realized how often it just so happened that I fell prey to the evil publish-hindering odds. (Oh wow. Was I really that ridiculous?) So I couldn’t blame you if you’re expecting another one right now.

But fortunately, it’s not coming. Instead, I’m coming clean: it’s not you, it’s me.

In the few months I regularly blogged, the experience was much more than I’d expected. The blogging community has been so lovely and of course, every published post, ‘Like’, comment and follower called for a little happy dance. At some point though, I began to lose touch with the magic and it hit me that I wasn’t doing something right.

And so, I’m officially calling Project 47 to a halt. It’s just not working for me.

The reason I took on the project was because I wanted to “be pushy with myself” and thought that if I created circumstances which would compel me to post weekly, I’d get it done. At first, this sort-of-photoblogging endeavor was enjoyable. But weeks later, as the photography fire began to die out and the project became somewhat of a burden, I realized how hard it was to force expressing yourself that way. It strikes me now that perhaps I merely saw it as an excuse to say that I had a blog.

Knowing me, maybe the whole Project 47-thing was a bit of a long shot. I mean, I did almost forget to publish my second week in. But well, it lasted 3 months.

Needless to say, it’s time to take a different approach.

I want to focus on developing the writer in me, which is really why I established this blog in the first place. I want to become not just the girl who says she “likes writing”, but who actually does write. I mean, who likes writing and doesn’t write? (Gosh, I really am that ridiculous.)

Sure, blogging is not bliss all the time (preaching to the choir much?). But it just makes the dedication and effort that bloggers put into their blogs all the more admirable. (That means seriously mad respect to those of you!) And anyway, I did say falling in love with blogging was going to be inevitable. So I’m back, starting with a clean slate.

This is Hannah, regular blogger at Made My Day, signing off. For now.

2 thoughts on “It’s Not You, It’s Me

  1. I started my blog for the same reason you mention – to actually write instead of simply being in love with the idea of writing. I guess the important thing is making sure that we aren’t pushing ourselves too hard. Blogging is supposed to be fun! 😉

    1. Haha, very true! As always, there’s some sort of optimal balance you want to achieve. But much of the time, perhaps it’s the joy of being read and being liked for your writing that really motivates you, huh?

Drop a Thought

